减压阀

避免出现故障的最佳方法是什么?寻求最小阻力的通道。虽然这并非是应对所有情况的最佳建议,但作为一种常见的预防措施,还是十分有用的。在此,当无法避免的或意外的高压导致部件故障时,采用该预防措施可以避免泵/系统因停机而造成的巨大损失。您应怎样抵消高压力峰值的影响?一个简单而有效的方法是安装减压阀。

减压阀

减压阀(亦称旁通阀)是一种允许液体进入到旁路通道,从而控制或限制压力的机械装置。减压阀被设计或设定为在预定压力下启动。当超过上述压力设置时,减压阀就会成为“最小阻力的通道”。此时,阀门被压力开启,部分液体被从旁路转移。被转移的液体通常会返回到储存器或泵入口。一般情况下,减压阀被作为安全预防措施,用于对系统或泵的最大操作压力进行限制。如果系统超过其压力范围,则减压阀就会启动。减压阀和旁路通道可采用内置(泵的不可分割部分)或外置(作为流体路径内的一个部件进行安装)形式。

 

内部旁路

内部旁路仅使流体在泵内进行再循环,使流体从出口腔返回到入口腔。GJ和GB泵系列的剖面图(见图1)显示了排出流体充满磁性杯。当泵出口一侧的排出压力增加时,磁性杯内的压力也会增加。当该压力超过旁路弹簧把持提动阀的力量时,提动阀会脱离其“位置”,从而允许流体通过旁路通道进入到泵入口。在此,通过调节旁路螺丝,可在外部增加或减少旁路弹簧的张力(以及旁路开启压力)(见图1)。

在旁路的一个小区域内发生流体再循环(图1a)。当旁路保持开启并且流体进行长时间的再循环时,流体运动的能量和流体摩擦会导致流体温度增加。用户应当意识到即使系统内的流体温度不超过建议值,旁路条件也会形成有效的温度上升,从而导致PTFE -齿轮泵发生严重膨胀。当旁路被用于在小体积和密闭回路系统内,对大比例泵送流体进行再循环时,流体的热量产生是需要被关注的主要问题。

 

外部旁路

在系统中安装一个减压阀,形成外部旁路。减压阀可通过不同来源获得,并且可按前述的相同原理进行操作:当流体压力超过弹簧的把持压力时,弹簧把持的提动阀会被启动。外部旁路设计一般是减压阀位于泵出口以及系统内任何其它阀门上游的附近。转移的流体应被返回到储存器,以避免前述的流体温度升高问题。图2显示了一种可行的旁路配置。

 

减压阀特性

关闭的旁路: 这是减压阀被关闭的情况。对于我们的泵产品,当调整螺钉始终旋入(按顺时针)时,会自始至终对旁路弹簧形成挤压。同时泵经受全部的流量和压力。

开启压力: 这是流体开始通过减压阀的压力。

全流量旁路压力: 这是当最大流量通过减压阀和旁路时的流体压力。在我们的泵产品中,100%的旁路输出属于再循环。

回座压力: 当减压阀被完全关闭时,产生的流体压力。回座压力低于开启压力。

如图3所示,应当注意的是我们的旁路不会从激活状态立即转到全流量,而是在大约0.7 bar(10psig)下逐步形成全流量旁路。

 

阀门的选择和设置

减压阀应被“设置”为在大于操作压力下开启,从而确保系统安全。在确定最大系统压力时一定要小心。同时,在设立您的限制时,可采用具有最低压力等级的部件作为参考。应记住,该部件可以是管道!

在流体运送应用中,许多市场在某一阶段会需要高流量/低压力的系统,随后,下一阶段可能会需要低流量/高压力的系统。同时,系统和泵产品的设计人员必须确保功率正常、防止温度升高,并在发生情况时立即(或尽快)提供可靠的解决方案。旁通阀提供了解决系统问题的方法,并在预算有限的情况下,仍能保证切实有效的安全性。因此,将阻力最小的通道考虑到您的未来方案中。这样,您会更为轻松!


经销商

立即查询


报价

立即查询


产品

立即查询

Micropump产品的制造采用环保工艺,将对环境的影响降至最低,缔造绿色产业创新。

Relief Valves

What's the best way to avoid trouble? Seek the path of least resistance. While this may not be the best advice for all situations, it is helpful for us to know that fluids follow this cliché with predictable behavior. Applying this knowledge to your pump/system can prevent expensive downtime when component failure is caused by unavoidable or unexpected high pressure spikes. How do you compensate for high pressure spikes? A simple, but very effective, way is to install a relief valve.

The Relief Valve

The relief valve (also called a bypass valve) is a mechanism used to control or limit pressure by allowing the fluid to flow into an auxiliary passage, away from the main flow path. The relief valve is designed or set to activate at a predetermined pressure. When this pressure setting is exceeded, the relief valve becomes the “path of least resistance” as the valve is forced open and a portion of the fluid is diverted through the auxiliary route. The diverted fluid is usually returned back to either the reservoir or the pump inlet. Generally, the relief valve is used as a safety precaution bysetting a limit for the maximum operating pressure of the system or pump, ready to operate should the system exceed its pressure limits. The relief valve and bypass path can be internal (an integral part of the pump) or external (installed as a component in the fluid path).

 

Internal Bypass

An internal bypass simply recirculates the fluid within the pump, returning the fluid from the outlet chamber to the inlet chamber. Cut-away views of a Series GJ and GB pump (see Fig. 1) show how discharge fluid fills the magnet cup. As the discharge pressure on the outlet side of the pump increases, so does the pressure within the magnet cup. When this pressure exceeds the force of the bypass spring holding down the poppet, it pushes the poppet off its "seat," allowing fluid to move through the auxiliary passage to the pump inlet. Bypass spring tension (and, consequently, bypass opening pressure) can be increased or decreased externally by adjusting the bypass screw (see Fig. 1).

This recirculation of fluid takes place in a small area (Fig. 1a) of the bypass. When the bypass remains open and the fluid is recirculated over a prolonged period, the energy of fluid movement and fluid friction will cause an increase in fluid temperature. Users should be aware that even when the fluid temperature in the system does not exceed recommended values, bypass conditions may create a sufficient temperature rise to cause significant swelling in PTFE-geared pumps. Fluid heating is a primary concern when the bypass is used to recirculate a large percentage of pumped fluid in small volume, closed-loop systems.

 

External Bypass

The external bypass is created by installing a relief valve in the system. Relief valves are available from several sources and typically operate on the same principle as explained previously: a poppet held in place with a spring is activated when the fluid pressure overcomes the force exerted by the spring. An external bypass is usually designed with the relief valve located close to the pump outlet and upstream of any other valves in the system. The diverted fluid should be directed back to the supply reservoir to avoid any possibility of fluid temperature problems as described previously. Figure 2 shows a possible bypass configuration.

 

Relief Valve Characteristics

Closed bypass This is when the relief valve is closed. In our pumps, this occurs when the adjusting screw is turned all the way in (clockwise), compressing the bypass spring all the way, and the pump experiences full-flow and pressure-producing capabilities.

Cracking pressure This is the pressure at which fluid begins to flow through the relief valve.

Full-flow bypass pressure This is the fluid pressure when maximum flow is passing through the relief valve and bypass path. In our pumps, 100% of the bypass output is recirculated.

Reseating pressure This is the fluid pressure when the relief valve is completely closed. Reseating pressure is lower than the cracking pressure.

Note, as shown in Fig. 3, that our bypass does not go immediately from activation to full-flow. Full-flow bypass occurs gradually over an approximate 0.7 bar (10 psig) range.

 

Valve Selection and Setting

Relief valves should be “set” to open at a pressure above the operating pressure. This provides system safety. Care should be taken when determining the maximum system pressure. Use the component with the lowest pressure rating as a guide for establishing your limit. Don't forget, this component could be the tubing!

In fluid handling applications, many markets have systems where high flow/low pressure is needed in one phase, followed by low flow/high pressure needs in the next phase. As always, the system and pump designer must conserve power, prevent temperature increases, and provide reliable solutions immediately (or sooner). The bypass valve offers a means of solving system problems and providing safety in a practical manner, without breaking tight budgets. So consider the path of least resistance on the way to your next solution. You may find relief!

Find a
Distributor

Find Now

Get a
Quote

Get Now

Find a
Product

Find Now

Micropump products are manufactured with minimal environmental impact enabling earth-friendly pumping innovations.